MoldMaking Technology

AUG 2018

Advertising in MoldMaking Technology offers

Issue link: https://mmt.epubxp.com/i/1004876

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 34 of 83

moldmakingtechnology.com 33 FOR MORE INFORMATION BMB / bmbgroup.com Calframax / calframax.com Cavaform / cavaform.com Dow Silicones / consumer.dow.com/en-us.html Extreme Tool & Engineering / extremetool.com FANUC / fanucamerica.com German RepRap GmbH / germanreprap.com JP Grofilley / grosfilley.fr/en Krauss Maffei / kraussmaffei.com/en Maruka Toyo / marukausa.com Milacron / milacron.com Mold Masters / milacron.com/our-brands/mold-masters M.R. Mold / mrmold.com Proper Tooling / propertooling.com R.D. Abbott Co. / rdabbott.com Sigmasoft / sigmasoft.de Sodick / sodick.com Westminster Tool / westminstertool.com Wittmann Battenfeld / wittmann-group.com XCell Tool / xctam.com Yushin / yushinamerica.com Zeiger Industries / zeigerindustries.com For all you truck lovers, Proper Tooling hooked up with Krauss Maffei to lightweight a 2014, model-year F-150, center-console armrest assembly for NPE2018. This project was more than a year in the making and was the brainchild of Proper Tooling's Director of Engineering Michael Tabbert. The original assembly comprised an inner-armrest substrate, outer-armrest substrate and outer-armrest skin. The entire assembly was 1,186 grams and contained 17 components, four assembly steps for inserting components, four required Philips screws for installation of the inner substrate and seven Torx screws for latch and hinge assembly. The current design yielded a 150-millimeter long crack in the ABS substrate part from load in the armrest's center, a cracked screw boss, manual hand wrapping of soft overmold material and excessive warp on the inner and outer substrate materials. The optimized NPE2018 design featured a composite sheet, outer-lid skin (TPV), inner-lid substrate (PP), outer-lid substrate (PP) and TPV overmold. Proper Tooling engineers used the data that they accrued during the structural analysis to optimize the product design, and they re-ran a series of struc- tural analyses. They determined that composite- sheet thickness of 1.0 millimeter was optimal. The conformal-cooled mold ran in a Krauss Maffei GXW 450-2000/1400 multi-component injection mold- ing machine cell and spin-form press with two shot stations: first shot substrate (PP) and second shot overmold (TPV). Krauss Maffei's FiberForm process combines the thermoforming of organo sheets and injection molding into a single process, which results in fiber-reinforced plastic components that are particu- larly lightweight yet feature a high level of strength. Manufacturers can use a silicone roller to apply paint for a simulated stitching on the armrest. The new concept design reduced components from six components to two, yielded a 20-percent weight sav- ings and a 15-percent waste reduction, and now the end product can withstand 160 pounds of force versus the previous 80 pounds of force. Proper Tooling joined forces with Krauss Maffei to lightweight a 2014 model-year F-150, center-console armrest assembly for NPE2018.

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of MoldMaking Technology - AUG 2018